Even though I’d made it back to Korea almost two days later than I wanted to, I managed to get all necessary administration, shopping and visiting done. Continuing to the end my tradition of finding things I need just over the road from my apartment, I came across the excellent Sky Dorm Backpackers in the building behind the apartment that used to be mine and moved in for the almost-week I would have in my old neighbourhood. I made it a point to visit as many of my old acquaintances as was practical, eat in as many of my favourite restaurants as was affordable and also to head over to the animal shelter in Asan for the very last time (again). As I handed my Alien Registration Card in at Incheon immigration before my flight to Canada, I had decidedly mixed feelings – plenty of worry and uncertainty, but also plenty of hope and excitement.

