Yanghwajin Foreigner's Cemetery (3)With an entire morning of my lens rental remaining, I looked around for places near my apartment that I could get to while the light was still reasonably good. I quickly found Yanghwajin Foreigner’s Cemetery (양화진 외국인 선교사묘원), which occupies a pleasant site near the Han River (한강) and is an easy twenty-minute bike ride from Sinchon.

The cemetery was founded by Emperor Gojong (고종 광무제) in 1890, in memory of a missionary called John Heron who had served as his private doctor. Various other foreigners have since been buried there, and it is currently at the heart of a spat between foreign and local Christian groups. When I walked around, the place was deserted and there was refreshingly little in the way of dubious history or loud distractions.

I decided to take a short walk along the river on my way back for breakfast, hoping to see a few birds near Bamseom Sanctuary. However, construction work on the storm drain overflow system seemed to have frightened them off.

Yanghwajin Foreigner's Cemetery (1)Yanghwajin Foreigner's Cemetery (2)

Dangsan duckHan River Rollerbladers

