I’m booked on tomorrow’s Intercape bus out to Clanwilliam (a brilliant opportunity to try out my home-made seatbelt if they don’t have them fitted already) to start my first farm placement at Jamaka Organic Farm. I’m fairly sure that internet access out there is patchy at best, so this may be my last post for a couple of weeks. I aim to be back in Cape Town by early August – I need to get out to Worcester by the 3rd to start my next placement.

Despite the inclement weather (it’s bucketing it down), I’ve spent most of the day down at the V&A Waterfront (the “A” stands for “Alfred”, oddly enough) – a large, ostentatious and overwhelmingly white development. I may have to write to Lonely Planet, as I found that you can see the seals in the Aquarium if you wander round the back (their enclosure backs onto the harbour). Then I spent a good hour weaving between mini-taxis and market stalls (a kind of structured chaos) at the bus station looking for the Intercape office.

Like quite a few places I’ve been, Cape Town’s Islamic businesses seem to be packed with people and the best value. Anyone else coming here should search out Mariam’s Kitchen for enormous veggie toasted sandwiches (R15), use the internet centres round the back of the Mutual building (R5 / hour as opposed to R10 / half-hour everywhere else) and memorise as-salaam alaykum.

